Teachers Mutual Bank / ATEA Teacher Educator of the Year

Dr Jen Scott-Curwood (The University of Sydney)

Presented by Shauna Wood, Teacher’s Mutual BankAward: A framed certificate and $3000.


Dr Jen Scott-Curwood is a Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Education and Social Work at the University of Sydney where she has worked as a teacher educator since 2011. Prior to this she spent seven years as a high school English teacher and four years as a teacher educator in the United States.

Her award for the Teachers Mutual Bank/ATEA Teacher Educator of the Year is based on her design and implementation of collaborative, reflective, and digitally mediated practices within the English education program. Her application was strongly supported by evidence from students’ unit evaluations, award nominations, and personal communications as well as colleagues’ testimonials.

ATEA Research Recognition Award for Early Career Researchers

Dr Jenna Gillett-Swan (Queensland University of Technology, Kelvin Grove Campus)

Presented by Professor Simone White, ATEA Past-President,


Dr Jenna Gillett-Swan is a teacher educator at Queensland University of Technology. She was awarded her PhD in 2014. She was a guest editor for the Global Studies of Childhood Journal Special Issue on ‘Children’s Rights in a 21st Century Digital World’ (2016) and for the Asia Pacific Journal of Teacher and an Education Special Issue on ‘Exploring the diversity of pre-service and beginning teachers’ experiences through multiple lenses’ (2017). She has a number of publications, with more under review.

Jenna is a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, and a QUT Higher Education Research Network Executive Committee Member. She was awarded a Vice Chancellor’s Performance Award in 2015.

ATEA Early Career Researcher Grant

Dr Renata Cinelli (Mentor Dr Mellita Jones) (Australian Catholic University, Melbourne)

Presented by Associate Prof Joce Nuttall, ATEA President

A grant of $500 for research support, as well as free registration for the 2017 ATEA conference was awarded to the successful applicant.


Project summary:

The project expands on an existing qualitative research project investigating the outcomes of an international teaching placement for undergraduate primary preservice teachers (PSTs) [in the Solomon Islands]. Specifically, the influence on PSTs’ personal and professional attributes; personal growth; cultural knowledge, competence and understanding will be explored; as well as the host in-service Indigenous teachers’ experiences of the benefits of the programme and ways in which it could be improved will be sought. […]

The proposed project seeks to investigate the influence of the programme on pre-service and in-service teachers through responses to an open-ended questionnaire and follow-up round table focus group interview with 2016-2018 PST participants; and semi-structured interviews with the Indigenous staff of the schools involved. Federal government mobility funding has been secured from the New Colombo Scheme to increase the accessibility of the program to enable the increased number of PSTs to participate by subsidising places.

Fellow of the Australian Teacher Education Association

The Australian Teacher Education Association recognises the outstanding service of

Professor Simone White

with the award of Fellow

5th July 2016


Cross-Institutional Collaborative Research Grant

No Award 2016

The grant offers support to teachers in schools or early childhood centres to conduct research that has a focus on in-service or pre-service teacher education/professional learning.

APJTE journal award for best article 2015

Colette Murphy, Kathryn Scantlebury & Catherine Milne

“Using Vygotsky’s zone of proximal development to propose and test an explanatory model for conceptualising co-teaching in pre-service science teacher education”

APJTE journal award for best reviewer 2015

Jo-Anne Reid

Maureen Robinson